top of page

Regulated by


School of English

Now also available online

Accredited center and examination center for the  Gatehouse certifications.


GATEHOUSE CLASSIC ESOL International certifications are designed for candidates who are not native English speakers and who wish to obtain a high-quality certification in English as a second language (L2), available and recognized around the world. They are designed to refer to the descriptions of language skills in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

Examination Center

The certification is regulated by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulations (Ofqual) in England and is part of the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF).

The qualification is available at all CEFR levels: For all levels, the exam consists of four separate components, each of which assesses one of the four skills: Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing.

The qualification is designed to reflect the four domains specified by the CEFR: the public domain, the personal domain, the educational domain, and the professional domain. All assessment activities use familiar and routine contexts that students are familiar with. Ratings are via materials written and set by Gatehouse Awards. Qualification is available upon request.

bottom of page